When Grace Sings by Kim Vogel Sawyer

Some series of novels are made to carry on a cast of beloved characters with no real direction and some series are created with a purpose in mind; The Zimmerman Restoration Trilogy was written with a purpose and so far in the first and second book, there is a beautiful flow of characters and plot between the books. That being said, I wish I had waited for the third book in the series to come out before reading the prior two because the second book leaves a bit of a cliff hanger and some unanswered questions. Not exactly the way I expected it to turn out in this novel, but I look forward to finishing the trilogy because Kim Vogel Sawyer has written an interesting story line that leaves one turning the page to see what will happen next.

In Book 1, When Mercy Rains, the reader is presented with a family with a huge secret that has been hidden for 20 years when Alexa and her mom Suzy come back to their quite Mennonite community. I will spare the details so as not to give it away to someone who has not read it. When Grace Sings, Book 2 of the trilogy, Alexa decides to stay in Arborville, Kansas the town her mom was raised in, to open a Bed and Breakfast at her grandmother’s remodeled home. During her first few months of operating the B&B, she has the opportunity for a hot shot reporter, Briley, to have a long term stay to work on a paper. Briley is looking for a story that will change the way people think of the peaceful Amish and Mennonite communities and expose that the peacefulness is a web of lies- the story will be his big break in the news industry. Alexa’s second cousin, Anna-Grace, comes to stay at Alexa’s B&B after her beau has inherited a house and piece of farmland from his deceased grandfather and is fixing it up. Events occur that provide Briley with all the information he needs to make a very juicy story the could defame the “Old Order” community.

When Mercy Rains is a very intriguing novel, but if you don’t like to wait to find out the end of a storyline, it is also one that I would recommend waiting to read until the whole trilogy is out. This is a novel that is a good read for the young and the old alike.

To check out a preview of this book or order a copy, you can click here.

WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me for free in exchange for this honest review as part of their Blogging for Books program.


About jenlloyd2005

I love life and am a huge people person. I try to live my life to the fullest potential all the while trying to honor God in everything I say and do as my faith is very essential to my life!
This entry was posted in Amish fiction, Christian books, Christian fiction, Christian novels, Mennonite fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s