Making Your Own Baby Food Made Easy

The Amazing Make-Ahead Baby Food Book— sounds like a book for a “health nut”, right? Well, let me tell you, I do not in any way, shape or form consider myself a “health nut” (no offense to anyone who does make sure everything they eat is organic because I don’t think there is anything wrong with it if you so choose to eat that way, I just don’t), but I found this book/cookbook thoroughly enjoyable and am looking forward to following this plan when my baby is ready to eat pureed foods.

What drew me in about the book was the idea that I could take any fruit, vegetable, and whole grain of my choice and make my own baby food for my newborn. Many times when you go in to a grocery store to pick out baby food, your options are very limited and, to be quite honest, the baby food looks and smells like something I don’t even want to eat- so why should my baby! Don’t get me wrong, I did use store bought baby food for my first child 8 years ago, but I wanted to have more options and flavor for my youngest. While I am not a “health nut”, raising my children to develop a love for different tastes, textures, and flavors is something I am really big on and The Amazing Make-Ahead Baby Food Book by Lisa Barrangou, PhD is a book that lays out a SIMPLE and fairly quick plan for making my own baby food and freezing it that I truly feel that there will be no problem tackling the task.

On top of giving you recipes to puree the foods and a basic timeline for preparing 3 months worth of baby food in 3 hours, the book gives a fairly comprehensive list and description of MANY different types of fruits, vegetables, and whole grains that you can use to make whatever baby food you want. And if that isn’t enough, there are more complex recipes it gives you for combining different purees to make things like Pecan Pumpkin Pie for your baby, just to keep their taste buds flavorfully happy. And even as they get older there are recipes for solid foods using the leftover purees you might have.

If you’re not much of a chef, no problem. Not only is the instructions for pureeing and the recipes really simple, but the book also gives Cooking 101 tips. Even being a pretty seasoned cook, like myself, I still found tips that were interesting and informative to me, such as what fruits and vegetables not to store together (or to store together) to prevent over ripening and how to make the most use of the crisper drawers in your refrigerator (I always wondered). If you have an infant at home or will have an infant in the future and maybe are playing with the idea of making your own baby food, I highly recommend getting this book. You will learn some new things and, with how easy the author makes it seem, you might be inspired to join me and make your own baby food too.

To check out a preview of this book or order a copy, you can click here.

WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me for free in exchange for this honest review as part of their Blogging for Books program.

About jenlloyd2005

I love life and am a huge people person. I try to live my life to the fullest potential all the while trying to honor God in everything I say and do as my faith is very essential to my life!
This entry was posted in Baby Food, Cookbook and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

