I’m Happy for You (Sort Of… Not Really) by Kay Wills Wyma

From the moment I saw the title of I’m Happy For you (Sort Of… Not Really): Finding Contentment in a Culture of Comparison by Kay Wills Wyma, it piqued my interest because honestly, the title alone was a resounding message to me. Most of us would like to think when we (or someone else) says “I’m happy for you” that it’s genuinely meant. And don’t get me wrong, there are many times when we do genuinely mean it; there are also times, however, when we see in perfect Facebook world that Sarah got the “Perfect Mom of the Year” award… again (like really, how did she when I sold more cookies than her and she has 1 less kid to manage) or how the Travises always take awesome trips to places like Bermuda and Hawaii and Nepal and even adopted that 1 kid from Bigfoot or something along that line. If you have ever been stuck comparing your “less than perfect” life to Mr. and Mrs. Thing, then this is a book you should consider reading.

In it Kay explores how to say I’m happy for you and start actually feeling that way. She offers funny insight from her own life and there are even snippets of ways other people have felt that their life doesn’t measure up scattered across the chapter. She even presents the idea that perhaps what is “awesome” that is always portrayed to others may just be a Glimpse into the other person’s life and not necessarily the true circumstances because social media has allowed us to be able to only show the good stuff, which can leave us or others feeling like less of a person. If you are like I was struggling and wondering why everyone always has it better off than you, this book really helps you to see that you’re not alone. Everyone at some point in their life feels that way and this book will help you walk through that time.

Kay adds humor and Faith to the topic of comparison that can get a lot of people down and helps people see that just by reshaping their thoughts, they can eventually get to a place where they can genuinely say “I’m happy for you” and truly mean it.

To check out a preview of this book or order a copy, you can click here.

WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me for free in exchange for this honest review as part of their Blogging for Books program.

About jenlloyd2005

I love life and am a huge people person. I try to live my life to the fullest potential all the while trying to honor God in everything I say and do as my faith is very essential to my life!
This entry was posted in Christian books, Self Help and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

