Waiting for Morning by Karen Kingsbury

I thoroughly enjoy Karen Kingsbury books because her characters deal with real issues that real people face. Life is not hunky dory like some Christian novels portray life to be and Karen gets that in her writings. I was extremely excited to see Waiting for Morning appear on the list of books to blog about because just a day before I found the novel, I was lamenting that I only had Book 2 of the “Forever Faithful Series” and that I needed to get Book 1 before I could read Book 2; you can imagine my excitement when this novel arrived at my doorstep! I think my husband thought I was a little nuts.

Waiting for Morning definitely delivers what I’ve come to expect and appreciate from Karen Kingsbury book. A novel that won’t disappoint and throws in enough twists in the story that you can’t predict exactly how the end will turn out until, well, you get to the end.

Hannah Ryan is the main character in this particular book in the series. She is living the perfect Christian life. Pretty much everything she has ever prayed for has worked out exactly how she wanted it. She marries the man she has loved since childhood, has two perfect daughters, a nice house, and several Christian friends that she can always count on. Life is going on as planned.

One night a turn of events shakes Hannah’s faith down to the very core. Her husband and daughters are in a car accident with a drunk driver that claims his life and the life of their eldest daughter. Their daughter Jenny is fortunate to have survived the accident with only a few cuts and bruises, when even their SUV is broken into smithereens and wrapped around a pole. Hannah doesn’t know where to turn or what to do, but she’s decided that God definitely is not the answer and that Jenny has really no understanding of how she feels, although she was in the vehicle.

After a lengthy court battle and help from her lawyer and the people at MADD, she still finds she has no peace and finds that there is only one thing that can give her true peace. Want to know what that is or what all lies in between the pages- well, read the novel! I’m not going to give away all the good parts.

This novel definitely follows the twists and turns of plot of a regular Kingsbury novel. Be prepared though, you will get swept in and to tears right from the beginning of the novel. I truly enjoyed it, but I found it was a very heavy novel to read due to the nature of the topic. After reading this novel, I would recommend having a light-hearted read ready. Even though I am an avid reader and this novel had me turning page after page, I found there were times I had to put it down because of the heavy content.

To check out a preview of this book or order a copy, you can click here.

WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me for free in exchange for this honest review as part of their Blogging for Books program.

About jenlloyd2005

I love life and am a huge people person. I try to live my life to the fullest potential all the while trying to honor God in everything I say and do as my faith is very essential to my life!
This entry was posted in Christian fiction, Christian novels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

