Making Cute Felt Dogs at Home

What crafter who likes working with fabrics and like materials wouldn’t enjoy making cute little dogs as a simple project, especially when the dogs look so life like and have such personality. That is exactly why I chose to review Little Felted Dogs by Saori Yamazaki. The dogs looked so adorable on the cover and quite honestly, I would love to have a little collection of these dogs for myself and I figured they would make wonderful gifts. So I was ready and excited to receive this craft book and dreaming of making little dog gifts for certain people in my life.

The book came and I read the introductory instructions and the basics of how to felt these little dogs and I thought, okay, this is going to be pretty simple, apart from possibly jabbing myself with a felting needing, but I can do this. When you get to the page where you’re actually making the dogs, I felt like the directions were a little more generalized that I would expect, but the author included diagrams with the dogs along with the sizes of the torso and head and such (you just have to jab with the needle, from the sounds of it, and almost hope you’re making it in the right shape to look like a dog). I still figured I would try giving it a go.

When I review crafting and cooking books, I usually like to try out something in them so I can let my readers know how the process turned out, and that’s where I came across a dilemma. I went to my local chain craft store, and found that the style of wool I would need to make these little felt dogs wasn’t necessarily available unless I wanted just to buy yarn, which is not what I was looking for. I live in an area where most of our smaller specialty fabric stores have sadly gone out of business and most of the chain stores that do have fabrics and materials have downsized to have only a smattering of each kind of craft, so in order to make these adorable dogs (and they seriously are adorable and lifelike), I will more than likely have to stock up on the wool sliver the next time I visit my grandparents who have more of the specialty stores by them, or I will have to try finding this online.

This is a good beginning felting book with several cute dogs to make and I do recommend it if you are able to access all the materials. The dogs look simple to make, and honestly, I am looking forward to finally making one when I am able to get my hands on the materials.

To check out a preview of this book or order a copy, you can click here.

WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me for free in exchange for this honest review as part of their Blogging for Books program.

 

About jenlloyd2005

I love life and am a huge people person. I try to live my life to the fullest potential all the while trying to honor God in everything I say and do as my faith is very essential to my life!
This entry was posted in Crafting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

