Crazy, Amazing Facts About Animals!

Did you know that a Polar Bear’s fur is actually clear and their skin is black? Or that a mosquito also pees on you when they bite you? These are just a few of the fun facts you will learn about animals in The Illustrated Compendium of Amazing Animal Facts by Maja Safstrom. In my opinion, the title alone, albeit being a mouthful, hints at the fun this book will contain.

When I saw this book for review, I knew instantly that this would be a book I wanted to share with my 9 year old daughter who is very much so into odd animal facts and trivia of various nature. I showed her the book when I received it in the mail and she was immediately drawn to it by its cute drawn moose and crazy octopus on the cover. When I gave her a brief description of what was on the inside, she was eager to read it with me.

The book was a very quick read, but it was so much fun. There was so many things I learned about animals that I would have never known and Maja puts it in a way that is not only interesting, but fun (I think I may pull the mosquito trivia out the next time we’re camping!) My daughter and I were chuckling at quite a bit of the facts; some of the humor she got easily, some other humor, such as the names for groups of animals (ie. “A group of ravens is called a conspiracy!” pg. 25) had me chuckling since I have an idea of what kinds of thoughts adults have of certain animals. On top of the interesting facts, the illustrations are very neat and detailed as well. They are also mainly outlines of the animals so they are perfect for the adult coloring craze, if someone so choses to do that in the book- I prefer the pictures just the way they are.

This book, overall, is a very fun book for adults and children alike. If you like facts that are interesting and somewhat humorous, as well as enjoy cute, detailed illustrations, this is a book you want to pick up. It is great for a child’s gift too as it has a hard cover so it won’t be torn apart and wrinkled as easily.

To check out a preview of this book or order a copy, you can click here.

WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me for free in exchange for this honest review as part of their Blogging for Books program.

 

About jenlloyd2005

I love life and am a huge people person. I try to live my life to the fullest potential all the while trying to honor God in everything I say and do as my faith is very essential to my life!
This entry was posted in Animals, Comedy, Nature, Non-fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

