Helping to Understand Your Dog

Dogs: the one animal nicknamed “man’s best friend”. People tell their dogs anything and share a myriad of feelings with them. We tell them about our day, cry into them when we are sad and even share our successes with them. Dogs are an integral part of many people’s lives; but have you ever wondered, if we truly could understand our dog’s language, what they might be saying to us. Why do they do that “helicopter” tail wag like they are trying to take off into space or why do they snap at the air; in her book The Secret Language of Dogs: Unlocking the Canine Mind for a Happier Pet, Victoria Stilwell explains all these dog “language” cues and more.

As an expert dog trainer and handler, Victoria knows dogs—so much so that she even has her own TV shows about the topic—so it is no surprise that she would have the knowledge and credibility to help us humans understand our special canine friends. Each chapter in the book explores a different facet and personality type of dogs; from your quiet dogs, to your super friendly hyperactive dogs, to your aggressive angry type dogs, she gives information you need to help you better understand them. Each chapter also features pictures with certain dog characteristics and what they mean, such as snarling or the tail wag to the way their bodies move. Ever wonder how to tell your dog has a bellyache or if they truly are enjoying a hug from a stranger? After reading this book, you will better be able to.

Throughout the book, Victoria’s love for her canine companions is very evident. She stresses ways to gently get across to them and bond with them since they understand and feel so much more than we as humans might think they do. She encourages the owner to understand their canine friend as much as she encourages them to help the dog understand them. You can see her passion for dogs written in each of the pages and on every other page at least there are beautiful pictures of dogs of all breeds and sizes.

I thoroughly enjoyed the book. I have always been an avid dog lover, and while I do not currently have a dog, I was raised with them all my life and even longed to be a veterinarian as a child so the world of dogs has always fascinated me. From reading this book, I wouldn’t consider myself a dog language expert by any means, but I feel it has better equipped me to read more of the subtle canine cues to better understand those dogs I may come in contact with. This book is great for anyone who has ever wondered what their dog is truly trying to communicate.

To check out a preview of this book or order a copy, you can click here.

WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group provided this book to me for free in exchange for this honest review as part of their Blogging for Books program.

 

 

About jenlloyd2005

I love life and am a huge people person. I try to live my life to the fullest potential all the while trying to honor God in everything I say and do as my faith is very essential to my life!
This entry was posted in Animals, Non-fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

