A Good Devotional Book

I’ll start out by saying, I think I would have enjoyed The 100 Most Encouraging Verses of the Bible by Troy Schmidt better had I been able to read it a little slower as a devotional rather than like a regular book. Troy offers a lot of good insight to verses in the Bible and such rich commentary on it that you will want to just mediate on the Scripture that is being explored. Reading through it like a normal book doesn’t give the text a chance to seep into your mind.

While Troy does offer a lot of insight with this book, I’m not sure if I really thought these were the MOST encouraging verses of the Bible. Even though I enjoyed the readings, some of the verses I really still had to wonder how it was encouraging enough to be considered “most”; especially some of the old testament verses such as Job 6:8-9. I know he was getting at how it was encouraging that God didn’t honor Job’s request to die because he was so miserable because God knows that what we are going through and our pain is only temporary and a lot of times a precursor for a blessing to take place, but I don’t know if a person who is needing encouragement is going think that Job lamenting to God about wanting to die to be very encouraging. He did provide a way to look at that verse that I have never thought of before and brought it back around to being encouraging, but I don’t know if I would consider it one of the “most”.

One of the things that would make the book even better is if there had been a reference somewhere in it specifying which verses to look for in the book to find encouragement for certain situations. If that was there, a person who is needing that encouragement at that moment would be able to easily look up those verses in the Bible or the book and study and mediate more on them.

While reading the book, it is obvious that Troy has definitely studied these verses. He did a lot of digging into the verses and opened up parts of it that many people might not see when reading. I really appreciated the research he had done into the verses. I would recommend this book to those who are looking for a good devotional that they can meditate on.

For a preview of the novel or to purchase, please click here.

I received this book free courtesy of Bethany House Publisher’s Blogger Review Program in exchange for an honest review.

About jenlloyd2005

I love life and am a huge people person. I try to live my life to the fullest potential all the while trying to honor God in everything I say and do as my faith is very essential to my life!
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Christian books, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

